Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Posted January 17, 2014 | 25 Comments

Uninvited by Sophie JordanUninvited
Author: Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited #1
Published by: HarperTeen
Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
GoodreadsAmazon

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

This is ridiculous! No, not the book. My attempt at writing this review is ridiculous. I have rewrote it so many times, that I’m ready to just wash my hands of it. It should not be this difficult, but Uninvited gave me so many mixed feelings and had me all over the place. I was immediately drawn to the premise of this book, especially because of my psychology background in violence. The idea of having the ability to identify a ‘kill gene’ in people is fascinating. More importantly, what people do with that information is the big question.

Davy is the ultimate good girl living a privileged life. She has the hottest boyfriend in school, friends, and plans to go to Julliard. Until she tests positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS) and her life is turned upside down. I thought Davy was an okay character. She was hypocritical throughout the book, but I understood why she felt the way she did. She’s been pretty sheltered all her life, so she’s a bit naïve about people. At the same time she is still in the “us vs them” mentality, and really, that’s the world she was forced to be in. I didn’t love her or anything, but she wasn’t terrible. When it came to the secondary characters, I didn’t find any of them all that interesting. With maybe the exception of Mitchell, Davy’s brother. His love and loyalty for his sister made me choke up, and was really the only time I truly felt anything for any of them. I probably would’ve liked the book a lot more had I cared for the characters.

As more and more people test positive for HTC, more restrictions are put on them. They are treated like criminals before they even do anything. Davy has to go to a public school with other HTC carriers, where they are segregated away from the rest of the students. And it gets worse from there. This is where I had issues. The biggest problem I had with Uninvited was the lack of answers to my many questions, and the logic behind certain situations didn’t mesh well. Plus, the scientist in me needed more than what this book gave me. I constantly had to remind myself that this was fiction, and not to take it too seriously. I was at war with myself and this book the entire time. I did like it, but would’ve preferred more answers. Sometimes it’s difficult to turn off the analytical part of my brain and just enjoy something.

Fear is an interesting thing. It has to ability to manipulate and control people so easily. A big part of me thought how unrealistic this was, in how quickly things escalated. But then at the same time, stuff like this does happen. Fear plays a huge role in how people behave and react. We see it all the time even though people may not realize it, especially when they don’t use critical thinking and automatically believe what is fed to them – how easily it can turn into mass hysteria. I really liked this aspect of the book. I also liked how it showed the hypocrisy of the people who were supposed to be the good non-carriers, because that kind of thing has been happening throughout history since the beginning of time.

There are so many other things that I went back-and-forth on with the Uninvited, but I can’t get into them all or this will go on forever and be majorly spoiler-ish. I’m sure there will be those who love it and those who hate it, but my feelings for it fluctuate a lot. Overall, though, I can appreciate what the author did. I would like to read the next book in the series, but I don’t know if it will be a top priority.

Sig2

Tags:

25 responses to “Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

    • Christy

      Oh, it’s definitely interesting. There were just certain things gave me very mixed feelings. And I probably would’ve liked it more had I really cared about the characters.

    • Christy

      I agree, it is fascinating. There were just certain things that was hard for me to …. accept without more info. Honestly, I’ve already forgot some of it. lol. I probably would’ve liked it more had I cared for the characters.

    • Christy

      Yeah, I don’t like just accepting something with such little info, even though I knew it was only fiction.

  1. Awww sorry you struggled a little with this one Christy! I absolutely loved it, but then again I’m about as far from a scientist as you can get, so all the unanswered questions with regard to the gene and everything related to it just went right on past me. Hope whatever you pick up next is AMAZING! Have a great weekend:)
    Jenny recently posted…Interview: Hannah Jayne + See Jane RunMy Profile

    • Christy

      I did like it, and probably would’ve liked it more if I had liked the characters more. But yeah, it’s hard for me to just accept certain things in the book without more answers. But that was my struggle, because part of me knew to just accept it because it is only fiction. It’s hard to turn off my analytical brain sometimes and just ENJOY something. lol

    • Christy

      I don’t think everyone will have that issue. It’s just hard for me to turn the analytical part of my brain off with stuff like that. lol. And I wish I could’ve liked the characters better.

    • Christy

      Yeah, I’m curious as to what you think of it. I did like it, but the analytical part of my brain refused to turn off so I could just enjoy it. lol

    • Christy

      I did like it, but the analytical part of my brain was giving me grief and wouldn’t let me just enjoy it. I probably would’ve liked it more though if I had cared for the characters.

  2. I really enjoyed this one. Did I love it? No, but did I like it? YES! I liked the characters a lot. I did wish that we got some more history on the gene and I hated how Davy’s parents treated her, but aside from those issues, I enjoyed the book.
    Alexia recently posted…ARC’s, e-ARC’s and MeMy Profile

  3. I think I’m going to have mixed feelings on this one too. I really hate not having enough answers, or having logic issues, but the concept behind this book is fascinating. I do see people react to fear in inexplicable ways, and it contributes to a lot of violence and mob hysteria you see everyday on the news, so I’m excited to see how the novel explores that. I know this book gave you a wide range of feelings, and I appreciate your thoughtful eloquent review. I want to check this out even more now!
    Lauren recently posted…Book Review: A Corner of White by Jaclyn MoriartyMy Profile

    • Christy

      It was a good book, but I had some mixed feeling about it. If the characters had been better, it probably would’ve been easier for me to looked past that stuff. You should try it, though.

  4. I loved this one, because of the fear and the possibility of this being something (like this) that *could* happen….someday. And I agree, fear does make people do interesting things and you can control people with it!

    I’m looking forward to the next book for sure! Sorry you struggled with this one, but great review!
    Jennifer recently posted…ARC: Beautiful Broken by Nazarea AndrewsMy Profile

  5. Uninvited is on my TBR pile and your review has me really looking forward to it! I really like when a book makes you go through a rollercoaster of emotions.
    Jenn recently posted…I’m back!!!My Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge